Home / Health insurance / Medicaid – The Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services

Medicaid – The Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services

The Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services, generally known as CMS for brief, is a federal company within the United States Department of Health and Human Services that works with state governments to manage Medicaid, Medicare, health insurance portability requirements and the State Children’s Health Insurance Program. They produce other duties too, reminiscent of guaranteeing long-term care facility high quality, scientific laboratory high quality requirements, and simplifying the executive facets of HIPPA 1996.

In 1965, the Social Security Act was signed by President Lyndon B. Johnson, which established each Medicaid and Medicare. The Social Security Administration was answerable for administrating Medicaid. Then, in 1977, the Heath Care Financing Administration (HCFA) turned answerable for Medicaid and Medicare. In 1980, the Department of Health, Education and Welfare (HEW) was break up into two separate agencies now referred to as the Department of Education and the Department of Health and Human Services (HHS). HCFA moved below the Department of Health and Human Services. In July of 2001, HCFA was renamed the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS). This change was performed to present the company a brand new route and a brand new spirit to mirror the CMS’s mission to serve thousands and thousands of Medicaid and Medicare beneficiaries all through America.

The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services is headquartered in Woodlawn, Maryland. There are 10 different regional places of work situated all through the nation. The Region I workplace is in Boston, Massachusetts and contains Massachusetts, Connecticut, New Hampshire, Maine, Vermont and Rhode Island. Region II is in New York City, New York and contains New York, New Jersey, Puerto Rico and the U.S. Virgin Islands. Region III is in Philadelphia Pennsylvania and contains the states of Pennsylvania, Maryland, Delaware, District of Columbia, Virginia, and West Virginia. Region IV is in Atlanta Georgia and contains Georgia, Alabama, Tennessee, South Carolina, North Carolina, Mississippi, Florida, and Kentucky. Region V is in Chicago Illinois and contains Michigan, Illinois, Indiana, Wisconsin, Ohio, and Minnesota.

Continuing to maneuver throughout the nation, Region VI is in Dallas, Texas and contains the states of Texas, Oklahoma, New Mexico, Louisiana and Arkansas. Region VII is in Kansas City, Missouri and contains Kansas, Nebraska, Missouri, and Iowa. Region VIII is in Denver Colorado for Colorado, Montana, South Dakota, North Dakota, Wyoming, and Utah. Region IX is in San Francisco, California and contains Arizona, California, Nevada, Hawaii, American Samoa, Northern Mariana Islands, and Guam. Region X is situated in Seattle, Washington and contains the states of Washington, Alaska, Oregon, and Idaho.If you want help in finding explicit coverages at a pre-determined value, we may help save 50% on health insurance.

About admin

Check Also

The Reasons for Possible Affordable Health Insurance

Finding inexpensive health insurance for you and your loved ones, particularly if you’re self employed, …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *